Registration Fee ---


Winners and Finalists

Jul 01, 2014

ScreamCraft Horror Script Contest


We’ve partnered with and our Hollywood judges are looking for the next fresh voice in horror screenwriting.


  • First place prize is $2,000 cash + a phone call with writer-director Scott Derrickson (Sinister, The Exorcism of Emily Rose)!
  • Second place prize is $200 cash and a phone call with a top literary manager.
  • All Top 10 Finalists will receive a page of development notes from one of our judges.
  • All Top 10 Finalists will receive a free copy of Final Draft 9 screenwriting software ($250 value).
  • All quarter-finalists will receive a full year membership to ISA Connect – courtesy of the International Screenwriters Association ($100 value). 
  • Regular entry fee is only $49 until June 1st.

« Back to Contests
MORE BY AUTHOR: Articles Podcasts Classes Contests
Looks like you are already a registered member!! please login to add comment. You will be redirected to login in 10 second(s) or click here to login

Feedback Type Description



  • Submissions are accepted via electronic submission on this website only, between February 14th, 2014 and June 1st, 2014.
  • Entry fee for each screenplay is $29 until the early deadline on April 15th, and then $49 until final deadline on June 1st.
  • There is no limit to the number of projects you may submit.
  • Please include your name and contact info on the title page.
  • Entries must be received on or before the deadlines and submission fee payment must be made in full at time of the submission.  All entry fees are non-refundable.
  • All submitted material must be original, and all rights must be wholly owned by the writer(s).
  • Material must be submitted by the writer. Material written by writing teams must be submitted by one of the writers, with consent of the other(s).
  • If a writing team is chosen as a winner, prizes will be given to the person who submits the project. Each team is responsible for dividing or sharing the prize money.
  • Substitutions of either corrected pages or new drafts of the entered material are not allowed. Please be careful to enter the correct screenplay and double check for typographical errors.
  • It is recommended (but not required) that original material be registered with the WGA or The Library of Congress before submitting to any competition.
  • All ownership and rights to the scripts submitted to this contest remains with the original rights holders. 



  • All writers 18 years of age or older are eligible. However, a writer who has earned more than $50,000 (or equivalent currency) from professional writing services for film or TV in the preceding year is not. (Contest winnings not included.)
  • All persons from anywhere in the world are eligible; however the material submitted must be in English.
  • All material submitted to other competitions or contests are eligible.
  • There are no requirements as to when the material was written.
  • The material submitted must not be encumbered by any obligation to, or option held by, a third party prior to entering the competition.
  • Any submitted work that becomes optioned, published, produced or purchased between the time of submission and the end of the judging period will no longer be eligible.
  • Material should be submitted in its proper format, font, spacing and margins.
  • Adaptations are ineligible unless the underlying rights are owned by the writer or the work is in the public domain.
  • Feature Screenplays longer than 140 pages will not be eligible.
  • All material must be submitted as a PDF or it will not be eligible.

The judging panel, selected by ScreenCraft or its representatives in its sole discretion, will include one screenplay development professional from each of these three studios or their subsidiaries: Paramount, Sony and Lionsgate, however these studios are in no way official sponsors or endorsers of this contest. 


The top 10 finalists will be chosen based on the following criteria: (i) originality; (ii) visual inventiveness; (iii) story; and (iv) overall impression.  The top 10 finalists will be notified by email and may be contacted by interested industry representatives, such as managers, agents or producers. 


Entrants may be required to submit further information to assist in the judges’ verification of eligibility.  Any entrant may be deemed ineligible at the sole discretion of ScreenCraft. 


The selected 2 winners will be notified by e-mail on or about July 1st, 2014. Finalists may be required to sign and return within five (5) business days of receipt a notarized Affidavit of Eligibility and a Release and Indemnification and any other documents that ScreenCraft or any other partner may require before receiving prize payment.  Failure to respond to the initial notification within ten (10) days or return of notification will result in disqualification. 


We reserve the right to amend these rules at any time.


None added. Contact contest admin for details.

Jess Parra's XX/YZ, 2014 ScreamCraft Horror Script Contest Quarterfinalist

XX/YZ is a 2014 ScreamCraft Horror Script Contest Quarterfinalist
read more »

Wolf in the Wood named Semi-finalist in ScreamCraft!

Wolf in the Wood, written by Nickolas Shepherd and myself, was just named a semi-finalist in Screen Craft's Screamcraft Horror Script Contest.
read more »

Named 2nd Runner-up in Script Pipeline's Great Movie Idea Contest

Oliver Clark and The Future Unknown, story by Nickolas Shepherd and myself, was recently named 2nd Runner-up in Script Pipeline's Great Movie Idea Contest. This adventure/sci-fi script will be completed soon.
read more »

Justin Harris - Quarter-Finalist in 2014 ScreamCraft Horror Script Contest

Justin Harris' screenplay, SHELTER, was chosen as a quarter-finalist in ScreenCraft's 2014 ScreamCraft Horror Script Contest.
read more »

Quarter Finalist 2014

Made it to the quarter finals with script The Boys Who Cried Wolf.
read more »

JP Ouellette's Horror, CAPTURED, Receives High Acclaim at Test Screening

Fresh off a ScreamCraft Horror Script Contest quarter-finalist birth for Writer/Producer JP Ouellette's psychological thriller, BLACKOUT, the quickly rising genre writer took to his twitter account @Circa1888 to announce that his...
read more »


CROWS END is an intense and compelling horror/thriller which advanced to the semi-finals of the 2014 SCREAMCRAFT HORROR CONTEST.  Logline: A young aboriginal woman must protect her unborn baby from the wrath of a vengeful shaman hell-bent...
read more »

"7th SON" Places in the 2014 ScreenCraft Horror Script Contest

"7th SON" Nominated as a 2014 ScreenCraft Horror Script Contest Quarterfinalist
read more »

"7th SON", by William Maurer, Named Finalist at Numerous Contests

"7th SON" garners a top 10 placement (top 2 overall for thriller/horror genre) in the 2014 Scriptapalooza Screenwriting Competition. It has also placed highly - Quarterfinalist - in the Screencraft Horror contest and the 2014 Page Awards.
read more »

Parker Briscoe's AND I DWELT IN THE LAND OF NOD Gains Momentum

Parker Briscoe's AND I DWELT IN THE LAND OF NOD Screenplay is getting noticed in 2014 as it makes its mark with some top Screenplay contests. It has so far received a Quarterfinalist prize at the Screencraft Horror Screenplay Contest; made the...
read more »

SADIE HAWKINS makes Semi Finals of ScreamCraft Horror Script Contest

Shayna Weber's quirky horror screenplay makes Semi-Finals of ScreamCraft Horror Script contest.
read more »








Contact Information